• Welcome to the Green and Gold Rugby forums. As you can see we've upgraded the forums to new software. Your old logon details should work, just click the 'Login' button in the top right.

Integrating players of different ability/experience levels.

Status
Not open for further replies.
H

HairySwan

Hi all,
I'm an u12s coach. I've had my team since u10s. That may sound like a long time, but we had unfinished business. We've always struggled for numbers. Where other teams have up to 10 reserves and unlimited interchange, we rarely get all 15 of my boys to the paddock (no reserves). We barely got the 10 for u10s or the 12 for u11s. As a consequence, I've got a core of superfit, superskilled players hardened by the demands of playing short every week for years. The ones who were new last year, I got up to scratch by the end of the year and they're now blossoming. Our brand new few, that came from a concerted recruitment effort, are, with one exception, well off the pace. Understandably, this has caused frustration and resentment among my hard core. I never intended to make little kids that intense about rugby, they seem to catch it off me like the flu. It's led to a couple of nasty bullying incidents, and it's threatening to derail our season before it even starts. I'm gutted, because the team was so close and so optimistic about how we finished last year. I'm trying everything I know to diffuse the tension and bond the team, but it seems the ability gap is so large that nothing can overcome it. I'm particularly interested to hear from others with similar experiences of massive ability gaps within teams. I'm talking 12 year olds who dominate rep footy as a running 5/8 with 12 year olds at literally u7s level.

Thanks

Malcsy

Sydney Middleton (9)
Hi mate, couple of points...