• Welcome to the Green and Gold Rugby forums. As you can see we've upgraded the forums to new software. Your old logon details should work, just click the 'Login' button in the top right.

NSW 16's Trial Matches

Status
Not open for further replies.
W

waves

Anyone have any insight of how the boys played or any standouts for the NSW Championships ?

C

catchpole

waves,

I am also very keen to hear about the results of the U.16 trial matches over the weekend.

I attended last season's U.16 weekend and learned quite a bit by observing the CAS, CCC, ISA and President's (GPS) games and then reviewing final two the teams produced by the selectors.

A number of reputations will be created, established or enhanced as a result of last weekend. Based on the comments on this site in the GPS & NSW Schools threads, the investment by the NSW Schools Rugby Union, together with the ARU, becomes a significant feature of future Open/U.18 selections over the next two years.

I am a novice with regards to Schoolboy Rugby and selection politics. However from now on I intend to pay far more attention to the selection of participating teams and appointment of coaches in the U.16 age division.

The dynamics of comparative physical development of players is probably at it greatest range in the U.16 division. Last year at Curragul my impression was that both the ISA and CCC teams were far larger and more physically developed than their CAS and GPS counterparts. Notwithstanding that comparative imbalance both CAS and GPS were competetive due to superior discipline and technical skills.

The option of routes available to the U.16 players to the National Championships is also intriguing. Players can progress to the Championships by either of the following two pathways;

1.NSW U.16 Schools
2.Sydney Junior Rugby Union U.16