• Welcome to the Green and Gold Rugby forums. As you can see we've upgraded the forums to new software. Your old logon details should work, just click the 'Login' button in the top right.

Photography

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sully

Tim Horan (67)
Staff member
Thanks to Lord Gagger I've a new interest in Photography. He encouraged me to apply for accreditation with the Reds and I borrowed a camera and gave it a bloody good go. I've done most of the Reds home games this year and the two lions tour matches in Brisbane and a couple of premier rugby games. And I love it!

Now the season is drawing to an end of started looking for other things to photograph and I've posted a few on Facebook etc. But I noticed the 2nd last photo I posted had had all it's metadata removed. Now I'm not a professional but I was still pissed off about it so today I watermarked a picture I put up.

Am I being a bit precious? I think I should be allowed to maintain ownership of my Photos no matter where I post them but I'm interested in other photographers points of view.

boyo

Mark Ella (57)
I'm not a professional photographer, and I don't know the rules about photographs on Facebook.

No, I don't think that you are being precious. They are your photographs.

EDITED.

2bluesfan

Nev Cottrell (35)
I'm not a professional photographer, and I don't the rules about photographs on Facebook.

No, I don't think that you are being precious. They are your photographs.
Actually, I'm not sure that they are still "your photographs" once you publish them on Facebook but I'm sure that someone who can be bothered to read the current T&Cs will rush on to inform us.

I guess you have a choice - publish on a site such as Facebook and be subject to their rules, or publish on a site you control. The latter is not all that expensive really. The choice can be, I think, quite a simple one depending on each individual's motivations for publishing their photos.

Moses

Simon Poidevin (60)
Staff member