Israel Folau Wins Second Consecutive John Eales Medal - Green and Gold Rugby

Israel Folau Wins Second Consecutive John Eales Medal

Israel Folau Wins Second Consecutive John Eales Medal

This page will be updated with all the latest action from tonight’s John Eales Medal.

To kick off the night John “Jock” Blackwood, Cyril Burke & Tim Horan were all inducted into the Wallaby Hall of Fame.

Andrew Ellem from the Gosford Rugby Club is named volunteer of the year.

Anthony Moyes is awarded the Roger Vanderfield Referee of the Year.

Michael Gunn is named Australian U20s Player of the Year.

Ted Vinson from Charters Towers Bulls is awarded the Asteron Life Community Coach of the Year!

Jeff Sayle wins the Spirit of Rugby Award.

Ben McCalman in the lead for the John Eales Medal after the Wallabies 2014 Spring tour.  Nick Phipps and Adam Ashley-Cooper round out the top 3.

Brumbies lock Rory Arnold is awarded Rookie of the year after a great season with the Brumbies.

Michael Cheika is awarded the Super Rugby coach of the year.

Angus Gardner is named the Super Rugby TNT Referee of the Year.

Waratahs claim the Super Rugby team of the year.

David Pocock has been named Super Rugby player of the year.

Michael Hooper has been voted by the fans as Wallaby player of the year.

Ariana Kaiwai has been named the Women’s XV Player of the Year.

Women’s Aussie Seven’s skipper Sharni Williams has been named the Shawn Mackay Women’s Sevens Player of the Year whilst the Men’s skipper Ed Jenkins was named the Shawn Mackay Men’s Sevens Player of the Year.

Sean McMahon is the Wallabies Rookie of the year.

Nick Phipps claims the Wallabies try of the year for his try against Ireland on the 2014 end of year tour.

And the John Eales Medal goes to….. Israel Folau.  Folau becomes to first player to win back to back John Eales Medals and joins Nathan Sharpe and George Smith as the only players to have won it twice.

  • Guy

    Awesome. Thanks. Keep ‘em coming :)

  • Patrick

    Wow, I certainly didn’t see MacCalman having that good a start, but check out Nick Phipps!

  • Hitcho

    Yep congratulations to Izzy. Does wonders for the game, does wonders on the field. Congrats also goes to all players recognised tonight.

    Now go get Bill!

  • Stuey

    am really impressed with Pocock polling so high after so few matches. Less than half as many as most others in the top 10.

  • Patrick

    Class rising to the top there, Folau Hooper and Pocock definitely amongst our best and most consistent, McMahon right in their footsteps (literally in the case of Hooper and Pocock).

  • Jamie Miller

    David Pocock started only two of the nine eligible matches in Sydney and Argentina. Says everything you need to know.

  • Funk

    What a travesty….Michael Cheika “Super Rugby Coach of the year”…Richard Graham must be feeling pretty hard done by!?!?!

    • Simon

      I’m gutted for Dick Graham. Must have only been a smidge in it.

  • Simon

    Good to see Angus Gardner recognised, I thought he was the best of the Super referees this season. Not just the best of the Australian refs either.


Wallabies, Waratahs and Northern Suburbs supporter. Twitter: @Hughadams01

More in Rugby