World Club 10's this weekend - Green and Gold Rugby
ACT Brumbies

World Club 10’s this weekend

World Club 10’s this weekend

The Test season may be upon us but there will be two Aussie Super Rugby teams represented with the Brumbies and Western Force competing at the World Club 10’s tournament in Mauritius this weekend.

When the venue was announced, there were rumours of a step up in intensity at training for those in the mix and let’s be honest, there are worse places to hold a junket tournament at this time of year.

The tournament sees eight teams compete in two pools with the other teams being The Sharks, Toulon, Stade Francais, Asia-Pacific Dragons, Saracens and an Italian All Star side. The Asia-Pacific Dragons will have a guest coach in Will Genia helping out Heyneke Meyer.

Mauritius – Looks like a terribe place this time of year

The Brumbies are competing in their second 10’s tournament after competing in Singapore in 2014 where they went down to the Auckland Blues in extra time and will include seven members from that squad in their 16 man squad.

The squad includes 15 players who have Super Rugby experience and will be looking to have something to show when the Wallabies get back from the Test series.

In comparison, the Western Force will be taking a largely inexperienced squad with a mix of Future Force devlopment players, juniors and players from local club rugby.

After a tumultuous week in the West, it will give them something to play for and press their claims for a spot in the top squad for 2017.

All the action can be seen on BeIn Sports 3 (channel 515) with pool games on Saturday followed by finals on Sunday.

Brumbies squad

Robbie Abel
Nigel Ah Wong
Jarrad Butler
Robbie Coleman
James Dargaville
Michael Dowsett
Blake Enever
Brent Hamlin
Leslie Leulua’iali’i-Makin
Josh Mann-Rea
Jordan Smiler
Ruan Smith
Tom Staniforth
Lausii Taliauli
Aidan Toua
Michael Wells

Western Force squad

Mees Erasmus
Tevin Ferris
Onehunga Havilli
Oliver Hoskins
Kane Koteka
Brad Lacey
Jarome Leonard-Tekanawa
Ammmon Matuauto
Michael Ruru
Tom Sexton
Tom Sheminant
Gus Taylor
Rickus Van Der Heyden
Eric Vasukicacau
Naude Wessels
Riley Winter


Brumbies fixtures:

v Toulon – 4:00pm AEST
v Western Force – 7:36pm AEST
v Italian All Stars – 10:48pm AEST


Western Force fixtures:

v Italian All Stars – 4:24pm AEST, 2:24pm AWST
v Brumbies – 7:36pm AEST , 5:36pm AWST
v Toulon – 11:12pm AEST, 9:12pm AWST

  • brumby runner

    Have to say I do like the 10s. A bit more like real rugby than like 7s with more emphasis on the forwards ‘ play.

    Looking forward to watching the games as light relief in between and around the test matches this weekend.

  • RedSheep1989

    Thanks for the write-up mate!

  • DK

    So, kinda like rugby-fest kowloon but serious?

ACT Brumbies
@steve_l15

Canberra born and bred Rugby fan brought up on Canberra Kookaburra and ACT Brumbies Rugby.

More in ACT Brumbies