• Welcome to the Green and Gold Rugby forums. As you can see we've upgraded the forums to new software. Your old logon details should work, just click the 'Login' button in the top right.

Next podcast guest: Brett Gosper - CEO OF THE IRB

Swat

Chilla Wilson (44)
Anyone else having trouble downloading this podcast? it's not working on podbean or itunes for me.

wamberal

Phil Kearns (64)
I enjoyed listening to most of the podcast. One quibble with Gosper's spiel, is the assertion that because NZ had 130,000 visitors for the RWC, that translates into a huge economic benefit.

Maybe it does. Or maybe those 130,000 visitors simply replaced an equivalent number of tourists who would have come there anyway, or a fair number of them, anyway.

My guess is that there is a net benefit, but that it is nowhere near the gross benefit that proponents of events like this claim.

Hugh Jarse

Rocky Elsom (76)
Staff member
What is your favourite rugby moment?

I am new to the podcast download game, so this may be a redundant observation/suggestion.

MR's question is awesome in its simplicity and relevance to ANY podcast guest.

On the SBS music show "Rokwiz", Host Julia Zamiro always asks two questions of her guests on the show: What was the first concert you went to? and What was the first album you ever bought?
This has become part of the Rokwiz "brand".

Perhaps G&GR could take a leaf from that book and establish two simple questions that all Podcast Guests should be asked. My nominations for those two Brand G&GR questions are:

1. What is your favourite rugby moment?
2. Who is, or was, your favourite rugby player?

Alternative
1. What is your first rugby memory?

Moses

Simon Poidevin (60)
Staff member
I enjoyed listening to most of the podcast. One quibble with Gosper's spiel, is the assertion that because NZ had 130,000 visitors for the RWC, that translates into a huge economic benefit.