• Welcome to the Green and Gold Rugby forums. As you can see we've upgraded the forums to new software. Your old logon details should work, just click the 'Login' button in the top right.

Proof Refs have been under the same pressures forever

Status
Not open for further replies.

RugbyFuture

Lord Logo
Was delving into the trove on rugby history and found this interesting article.

I thought it would be interesting in light of criticism of Joubert's reffing in the semi's

Decoded it for those hard of reading (to the best of my ability)
old ref complaint.jpg

mxyzptlk

Colin Windon (37)
I don't think its improved anything in League.

If Clancy is an incompetent muppet,the solution is to skill him up,or remove him.
Not duplicate him.
IMO

I'm not sure the only options are replicating an incompetent muppet or leaving only one incompetent muppet on the field.

yourmatesam

Desmond Connor (43)
Is it time for multiple referees like many other sports?

As an active referee, I can't see how this would work. There's just too many variables in Rugby Union to add another referee into the mix for it not to f@#k up (more than it already does...).

mxyzptlk

Colin Windon (37)
Keep it at one ref. Can you imagine a situation of having two pedantic refs on the field at the same time? Penalties aplenty.

Yeah, I can. As these things go, I think you would get a load of penalties at the outset. But before long, whether it's through the coaches, captains, or just the players sorting themselves out, they'd start to straighten out their own play and you'd get some better games.