• Welcome to the Green and Gold Rugby forums. As you can see we've upgraded the forums to new software. Your old logon details should work, just click the 'Login' button in the top right.

my crusade to have the UniverIty of Western Sydney renamed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jethro Tah

Bob Loudon (25)
I agree with the rebranding idea RF. I went to Hawkesbury from 92 to 95 after it was officially renamed UWS Hawkesbury in the late 80s but have never thought of it as UWS. I am still in contact with other grads of that time and we all say we went to Hawkesbury and never UWS. The job market was really tough to crack back then (especially for a very average student like myself) because the economy was just coming out of recession and, as you rightly pointed out, the phrase 'Western Sydney' is not always associated with academic prowess.

Richo

John Thornett (49)
I did my undergrad at UNSW, masters at the London School of Economics and am now doing my doctorate at UWS. Having experienced the reactions to all three institutions, I can tell you that UWS gives you the most "oh, okay, right, well, I suppose" type of response, which is preposterous considering the standard of education there. And I think you're right, RF, that changing the name is a good idea and for exactly the reasons you say. I always feel like it makes UWS sound like it's somehow subordinate to Sydney Uni or something, when it really is an institution in its own right. What I don't agree with is naming it after Arthur Philip. Chifley, I like more. But even that doesn't really say UWS to me.