Strewthcobber
Phil Kearns (64)
No doubt pink didn't intend to ground it, but I think he pretty clearly did do what is neccessary to ground the ball (hold it, and touch the ground), whether he intended to or notNo but I'm trying to work through the psychology of how someone would interpret that situation with the laws.
I go back to my original point - if the referee believed that the ball was grounded by pink, then the moment it hit the line he should have blown his whistle - in addition, there is no indication in pinks actions or body language that indicates that he believes he has grounded the ball either. If he did, the moment the ball hit the line he most likely would have picked up the ball, and walked away to start preparing for the scrum.
The question is then does the ref get to decide if it's grounded or not based on vibes (ie he was picking hte ball up, even though it took 3 seconds), or is it a strict liability thing?