waiopehu oldboy
Rocky Elsom (76)
Law 9.7a means penalty, right?
Yes.Law 9.7a means penalty, right?
Sanction for in-front of the kicker from a kick-off is a scrumCan’t believe the ref didn’t ping him for offside. SA player literally kicked the ball to his own player it was that deliberate. Common sense prevails.
YepLaw 9.7a means penalty, right?
Sanction for in-front of the kicker from a kick-off is a scrum
It's classic rugby that in front of the kicker can only be a scrum whereas other kick-off infractions (ball not going 10 or out on the full etc.) do provide the option of retaking the kick.
Out on the full also provides the option of a lineout.
Lol even more hilarious , I think all the original rules etc were written up by schoolboys. They made them up as they played and 3-4 senior boys would have a pencil and paper in pocket to write them down as they came up with them during games.I just checked my history book - it looks like until around 1885 any kind of kick-off infraction was always just a re-kick. In around 1885 the scrum, or lineout options were added in, and another law added for in-front-of-the-kicker, which was only a scrum
So it's been that way for a blong time!
Kind of hillarious we still are beholden to some old blazer in a Victorian-era pub with a lot of this stuff. They did that simplification of the laws in 2018(?). There are so many more opportunities to get anomalies like this straightened out.
It's classic rugby that in front of the kicker can only be a scrum whereas other kick-off infractions (ball not going 10 or out on the full etc.) do provide the option of retaking the kick.
Out on the full also provides the option of a lineout.
The way the guidance is given, you'd penalise the try scorer if they did something dangerous, which might require someone copping the boot. The lawmakers said the famous Johnny May try was legal, and this one was very similar I think.First Lions try last night: I get that it was in the act of scoring a try but surely diving over players like that is dangerous play? Multiple Aus players could've copped a boot to the head & then what happens?
He was maybe, but Slipper wasn't. And Porecki absolutely could have made a legal stop if Sheehan doesn't jump (or, if Porecki makes contact there and makes a tackle - he's not going to be penalised for making a tackle off his feet).The way the guidance is given, you'd penalise the try scorer if they did something dangerous, which might require someone copping the boot. The lawmakers said the famous Johnny May try was legal, and this one was very similar I think.
Dave Poreki was just way too low (on his knees when attempting) and couldn't get in a position to make the stop (I get that it's intense, and he has a role there to chop, and probably doesn't have anywhere near enough time to adjust)
In principle, in a try scoring situation, if the action is deemed to be a dive forward for a try, then it should be permitted. If a player is deemed to have left the ground to avoid a tackle; or to jump, or hurdle a potential tackler, then this is dangerous play and should be sanctioned accordingly
It's always stupid when we get into the semantics of stuff like dive v jump in the laws, but I don't think anyone would choose "jump" over "dive forward for a try" for this.This to me adds to the argument of it being a deliberate jump (though not sure whether they can consider this in the moment to add context to their decisions).
In principle, in a try scoring situation, if the action is deemed to be a dive forward for a try, then it should be permitted.
I think if you rewind a few frames to find the still where he initially jumpdives it would be easier to see my perspective.It's always stupid when we get into the semantics of stuff like dive v jump in the laws, but I don't think anyone would choose "jump" over "dive forward for a try" for this.
View attachment 22843
I think the ref correctly applied the current guidelines. Would be happy for them to be changed, but those were the rules they were playing under on Saturday
It is blatantly cheating from Sheehan. He has jumped up to go over two tacklers and not dived forward to ground the ball.It's always stupid when we get into the semantics of stuff like dive v jump in the laws, but I don't think anyone would choose "jump" over "dive forward for a try" for this.
View attachment 22843
I think the ref correctly applied the current guidelines. Would be happy for them to be changed, but those were the rules they were playing under on Saturday
I hate that Morgs has effectively greenlit this type of chat.It is blatantly cheating from Sheehan. He has jumped up to go over two tacklers and not dived forward to ground the ball.
The ref was once again afraid to correctly apply the laws there