• Welcome to the forums of Green & Gold Rugby.
    We have recently made some changes to the amount of discussions boards on the forum.
    Over the coming months we will continue to make more changes to make the forum more user friendly for all to use.
    Thanks, Admin.

Refereeing decisions

John S

Ken Catchpole (46)

Strewthcobber

Phil Kearns (64)

James Ryan given a three match suspension for his red card on the weekend against SA.

I'm probably a little bit dense, but I'm not seeing that much difference to the ones that got overturned in the last few weeks. There must be some differences as the disciplinary panel thought so.
It's a clean-out, not a tackle (which doesn't make too much difference), but there was clearly direct, high force contact with the oppo players head; the main difference with those that have been overturned recently - the others didn't have both high force and direct contact.
 

John S

Ken Catchpole (46)
Yeah, ok. That makes sense. So what's the difference with the clean out on Tizzano - because there was high direct force to the head (well ok upper neck) on that one. It seems strange of the difference just because of the head position of the player being tackled.
 

JRugby2

Colin Windon (37)
Yeah, ok. That makes sense. So what's the difference with the clean out on Tizzano - because there was high direct force to the head (well ok upper neck) on that one. It seems strange of the difference just because of the head position of the player being tackled.
I can see a few differences, in no particular order:

- Tizzano's head is significantly lower than Marx's
- James Ryan jumps over the ruck whereas Morgan entered on feet
- Ryan's airborne at contact, which reduces the amount of control he has over his body and movement to zero, Jac still has control
- contact point, but you pointed this out already

The sum of all of that being we have one that is definitely foul play, and one that maybe is.
 
Last edited:

Strewthcobber

Phil Kearns (64)
Yeah, ok. That makes sense. So what's the difference with the clean out on Tizzano - because there was high direct force to the head (well ok upper neck) on that one. It seems strange of the difference just because of the head position of the player being tackled.
The actual law he was found guilty of breeching was this one
“A player must not charge into a ruck or maul. Charging includes any contact made without binding onto another player in the ruck or maul.

So the difference is they found Ryan "charged" into the ruck, whereas the ref group didn't think Morgan did.

As they keep on telling us, not all head contact is foul play. To form a ruck in accordance with the laws of the game it's virtually impossible to avoid contact with the head/neck.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20251127-102351.png
    Screenshot_20251127-102351.png
    438 KB · Views: 3
Top