It's if you have a chance to regather it so it is judged on how far away it lands from you when it hits the ground. They've changed it or clarified it recently so it's nothing to do with hand position anymore. It's a card if it stopped a line break opportunity (who knows how they judge that consistently).
Hahaha as if he wasn’t, if he had dove instead of trying to stay on his feet and regathered he would have got to it, it was only just out of his reach. If he had had slightly softer hands he would’ve regathered it easy