1. Welcome to the Green and Gold Rugby forums. As you can see we've upgraded the forums to new software. Your old logon details should work, just click the 'Login' button in the top right.

Round 5 - Brumbies vs Waratahs - Friday 15 March @ 7:45pm in Canberra

Discussion in 'Rugby Matches' started by Braveheart81, Mar 11, 2019.

  1. liquor box Ken Catchpole (46)

    Likes Received:
    1,723
    The last no try decision being ruled a knock on was correct but immediately before this didn't the Tahs player knock the ball to the ground on purpose? He used the palm of his hand and appeared to try to hook it back away from the in goal. Should a deliberate knock down be a penalty?
  2. KOB1987 Paul McLean (56)

    Likes Received:
    2,999
    yep. forearm at least
  3. KOB1987 Paul McLean (56)

    Likes Received:
    2,999
    nah he knocked it back into the field of play. nothing to see there.
    Purce likes this.
  4. The Honey Badger Chilla Wilson (44)

    Likes Received:
    865
    How did Stainforth and Roets go in the curtain raiser?
  5. Brumby Runner Phil Kearns (64)

    Likes Received:
    4,963
    OK, as I forecast was a bit of an arm wrestle with few skills on display by both sides. Surprisinglyat least to me, the Tahs didn't really get their backline working often enough.

    I thought McCaffrey outplayed Dempsey in the 8 spots. The Brumbies' locks were better and the scrum lineouts were superior.

    Have not seen anyreplays, but in real time I thought Kuridrani was never released by the tackler under the posts just before half time and that there were a few Tahs offside around the ruck. But the penalty went to the Tahs for not releasing. I read it that the Tahs infringed first by not releasing Kuridrani in the tackle.

    Lonergan certainly scored near the death. That was a shocker decision by the TMO. Even had he knocked it on, which he didn't, it probably should have been a penalty try for Newsome's interference on Taliauli when they were competing in the chase.
  6. Brumby Runner Phil Kearns (64)

    Likes Received:
    4,963
    No. A try can be scored with downward pressure by the hands, arms and torso. As far as I am aware, there is no mention at all in the laws of being in control of the ball. Any call to disallow a try on the basis of not being in control of the ball is apparently a wrong call.
  7. Brumby Runner Phil Kearns (64)

    Likes Received:
    4,963
    I do not think that's right KOB. Would you like to quote the relevant law?
  8. The Honey Badger Chilla Wilson (44)

    Likes Received:
    865
    I agree with you, looked good to me.
  9. KOB1987 Paul McLean (56)

    Likes Received:
    2,999
    Just putting my blue glasses on for a sec:

    That might be correct but some might ask why it wasn't marched 90m the other direction for the deliberate knockdown by the Brumbies which actually gave them the possession.

    It actually was knocked on and Newsome's interference was nowhere near the play and after his own knock back. Every competent referee in the country would also have ignored it.
  10. Brumby Runner Phil Kearns (64)

    Likes Received:
    4,963
    KOB your blue glasses certainly have some sort of effect. The chase between Newsome and Taliauli was right on the ball and one of then would have won that race had it not been for Lonergan's more direct line to where the ball bounced.
  11. Derpus Mark Loane (55)

    Likes Received:
    2,672
    Garbage game won by the better team with the ref missing some absolute sitters and officiating a mess of a breakdown. I actually went to this game. Damn shame.
    The Honey Badger likes this.
  12. The Honey Badger Chilla Wilson (44)

    Likes Received:
    865
    The play right on halftime was actually a knock on by the Brums way back on halfway. Should have been a scrum or penalty (for deliberate) back in kick able territory.
  13. KOB1987 Paul McLean (56)

    Likes Received:
    2,999
    I think you added the torso bit in to suit this situation:

    "A player can score a try by carrying the ball into the in goal and then touching it to the ground while holding on to it. No downward pressure is required, but the player must be holding the ball in at least one of their hands or at least one of their arms."
  14. Derpus Mark Loane (55)

    Likes Received:
    2,672
    But it definitely followed a clear knockdown, so irrelevant.
    The Honey Badger likes this.
  15. The Honey Badger Chilla Wilson (44)

    Likes Received:
    865
    Did anyone send a replay of the penalty try where HJH got 10 for collapsing the mall?

    Tough call I thought, but they never showed a replay or I missed it.
  16. Brumby Runner Phil Kearns (64)

    Likes Received:
    4,963
    One other observation worth noting - I think Christian Lealiifano had an ordinary game again and must have some doubt about retaining his spot. But even so, he outplayed Foley. But of course that is all to do with the dominant scrum for the Brumbies, nothing at all to do with individual skills or form. On the other hand, Gordon was better than Powell and streets ahead of Phipps, but he must have been behind a scrum at least gaining par or otherwise he wouldn't be noticed at all.
    jimmydubs likes this.
  17. Adam84 Cyril Towers (30)

    Likes Received:
    556
    Another serious injury for Valentini? Poor bloke.. were his previous injuries in his knees as well?
    Hope he doesn’t turn into another Hugh McMenimen.
  18. Brumby Runner Phil Kearns (64)

    Likes Received:
    4,963
    What knock down D? Are yoreferring to Newsome's knock back that caused the ball to go over the try line? If so, you misunderstanding the laws around knock ons. If not, can you elaborate please?
  19. The Honey Badger Chilla Wilson (44)

    Likes Received:
    865
    OK, thank you. I am enlightened about downward pressure.

    So, I did not see the ball travel forward off Lonergan, even though he did not have control of the ball. IMO, ball went backwards and was grounded by his torso.

    Fair try
  20. The Honey Badger Chilla Wilson (44)

    Likes Received:
    865
    The only relevance of that no try decision is it left the Tahs with losing bonus point. Which I am happy about. Looks like its going to be a tight contest.

Share This Page