1. Welcome to the Green and Gold Rugby forums. As you can see we've upgraded the forums to new software. Your old logon details should work, just click the 'Login' button in the top right.

Super Rugby AU Round 8 - Brumbies vs Waratahs @ Canberra Stadium - Saturday 22 August @ 7.15pm

Discussion in 'Rugby Matches' started by Braveheart81, Aug 18, 2020.

  1. Derpus Simon Poidevin (60)

    Likes Received:
    4,736
    The biggest miss from Gus and co was the tackle in the air. Sure the tackler ended up hurting himself and not the man playing the ball, but he was never in a realistic position to contest and ended up knocking Newsome on his arse with a no arms collision. Oh and the outcome was a Brumbies possession.

    That's been a yellow for years.
    RugbyReg and Drew like this.
  2. mst Ken Catchpole (46)

    Likes Received:
    1,519
    The offside; I have not said either way if it was correct or not, only that it would have been an interesting review.

    Personally I am surprised they didn't check the offside and I would not have been surprised if they ruled it offside. It's what my initial thought was.

    As for Tate: guilty as charged. I think he needs more development. That is purely my opinion. But, I want him in the conversation.
    TSR likes this.
  3. dru Steve Williams (59)

    Likes Received:
    4,419
    WB halfback is a sure thing. Bet the house on it. Question is 9 or 21. None there so far good enough to take the number 9 from him. On form at least.
  4. Slim 293 George Gregan (70)

    Likes Received:
    11,150
    Nah, watch it again - Gardner was spot on with that call.
    mst, Silverado and dru like this.
  5. Merrow Phil Hardcastle (33)

    Likes Received:
    757
    Maybe so, however just before the kick Gus awarded a penalty to the Brumbies and hasn’t called advantage over.
  6. Brumby Runner John Eales (66)

    Likes Received:
    5,732
    Similar events have resulted in yellow or even red cards in the past. But remember the French player red carded and later exonerated by the disciplinary panel.

    Whether this instance was inconsistent or not, I personally believe it to have been correct. Douglas was unmistakably going for the ball and was not intent on touching, hitting or colliding with the other player, in the air or on the ground. I would like to see clarification of the laws to recognise the unintended collision of bodies in such an incident. After all, the game is built around collisions and many have unintended, accidental results.
    mst likes this.
  7. Derpus Simon Poidevin (60)

    Likes Received:
    4,736
    I don't think that's the rule BR. Isn't the rule something like 'you have to be in a realistic position to get the ball'. His head smacking into Newsome's hip suggests he wasn't.
  8. Slim 293 George Gregan (70)

    Likes Received:
    11,150
    I’ll have to watch it again, but Douglas is definitely in a position to receive the ball, and I think Gardner might have actually stated that Newsome was never in a realistic position to retrieve that ball after he launches towards Douglas...
  9. Derpus Simon Poidevin (60)

    Likes Received:
    4,736
    Except that he catches the ball..
  10. Slim 293 George Gregan (70)

    Likes Received:
    11,150
    He knocks it on.
  11. Drew Jimmy Flynn (14)

    Likes Received:
    95
    Surely a clumsy challenge like that is akin to a high tackle where the ball carrier slips and gets hit high. If a player is put in a dangerous position, whether intentionally or not, it should be a penalty.
  12. Derpus Simon Poidevin (60)

    Likes Received:
    4,736
    Because he hit with a no arms tackle in midair. I don't really see how he 'could not be in a realistic position to catch the ball' if he literally caught it?
  13. Slim 293 George Gregan (70)

    Likes Received:
    11,150
    No arms tackle? Now you’re making stuff up....

    Douglas was in a position to catch the ball with all eyes on it, Newsome launches himself over him and knocks the ball on, accidental collision with both going for the ball, play on....
    dru likes this.
  14. Derpus Simon Poidevin (60)

    Likes Received:
    4,736
  15. KOB1987 Steve Williams (59)

    Likes Received:
    4,324
    I didn’t think there was any malicious intent and at worst it should have been a penalty. But I’d agree it’s also silly to say Newsome wasn’t in a realistic position to catch it.
    Brumby Runner likes this.
  16. Uh huh Bill Watson (15)

    Likes Received:
    274
    If the roles had been reversed, I'd have been pissed off. Not because I think that *should* be a penalty, but because I've seen variations on that theme result in penalties and cards for years now. The way the directive is consistently applied is that - if you jump higher and get your hands on the ball - you win the penalty. I think it's dumb, but that's the way it is.

    A card would've been particularly unfair, but it would not have surprised me.

    Poor call.
  17. Uh huh Bill Watson (15)

    Likes Received:
    274
    Maybe so, but "I havent seen anything that suggests White can snipe or defend like Tate" reads like a statement on the player's capabilities, rather than his form.
  18. RugbyReg George Smith (75)

    Likes Received:
    14,653
    Ok I have just watched it again and stick with my immediate thoughts. It was reckless and Douglas should have been carded.

    It was initially watching the ball but turned his head and stopped watching. There was no way he was going for the ball. He wasn't watching. It wasn't a no arms tackle either. It wasn't a tackle. He just charged in. It wasn't an attempt to tackle but it was reckless.

    Newsome was 100% going for the ball and dropped it because Douglas just charged through him.

    Generally staggered nothing more happened considering how flippant some rulings on this there have been
  19. RugbyReg George Smith (75)

    Likes Received:
    14,653
  20. RugbyReg George Smith (75)

    Likes Received:
    14,653

Share This Page