Geoff Shaw (53)
I love the way you put that photo on it which shows
1. JOC (James O'Connor) Offside
2. Rocky not bound at the shoulder.
Offset that against
1. McCaw detached
2. Woodys hand on the ground
And it all evens out perfectly. Thus try is valid, in the history books, on the scorecard, and all is done & dusted.
You are right on one count. It is all done and dusted and the result will not change.
But given that at every contest there are multiple infringements, the job of a referee is to decide what impact particular infringements have on the game. You can't just add them up or cancel them out. Some referees do that better than others, Lawrence is about mid table.
One thing I do find interesting is that the Blackness chose to go to such an obvious illegal move. Usually they are much more subtle. I think that's a measure of just how desperate they were. For the first time this year they were staring down the barrel of a defeat where they had been clearly outplayed up till that time. I reckon Richie was for the first time really, really desperate; hence the blatant illegality. Another point to go in the Wallaby memory banks. We got very very close and no one knows it better than Mr Invisibility.